OBD-II PID and Torque Pro

All Jaguar I-Pace related discussions
Grunt
Posts: 122
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2020 12:39 pm
Location: Belgium

OBD-II PID and Torque Pro

Post by Grunt » Tue May 11, 2021 5:28 pm

Hi all!

The CANBUS of the I-Pace produces masses of fascinating information. This info is readable via the On Board Diagnostics port.
OBD-II adapters are cheap and provide masses of real-time information in the form of Parameter IDs (PID).
Mobile Apps exist that can display what is read from the OBD-II adapter. The troubles is that the apps need to know what the information actually represents.

I see on this forum an impressive amount of activity around PIDs, all in an effort to discovered what information they contain. I mean, impressive, how people are identifying the results, linking them to complex calculations and capturing their actual meaning.
It seems that the car knows how many AC charging it has done, ever, how many DC sessions, the current temperature in the ventilation duct to the passenger legs etc. Pretty much anything one could think off...

Kermit68 and ANBO and Dernotte and iomagico and Maxwell400 and many others sprinkled information here and there, which is much appreciated. There are more than 1000 posts on this!
But a lot of this work seems to go to waste for a large part of our population - including myself.

Now, making that wealth of info usable to us, commoners, should not be terribly complex 8-)

If I assume that Torque Pro is the target application of choice, then ideally we would have:
  • 2 downloadable lists of PID definitions in a format that can be imported in Torque Pro (one each for MY19-20 and one for MY21)
  • a very brief explanation of how to import this list
  • perhaps some examples of Torque Pro dashboards
With that information, all us commoners could display the info of our choosing...
Worthwhile?

User avatar
ANBO
Posts: 300
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2020 7:50 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: OBD-II PID and Torque Pro

Post by ANBO » Tue May 11, 2021 8:29 pm

Hi Grunt,

Loading to Torque Pro is easy and happy to write up instructions here.

Just posted a file for MY18-MY20 with of the key PIDs for ABRP, and a few extra. There are some nuances with MY21 and some differences in assumptions between the "investigators", so a work in progress. Guess if we can align on the assumption we can post here 2 files, V1.0 😁
πŸ‡¨πŸ‡­ EV400 HSE (MY2020; MAR); 20"πŸ”†
βš™οΈ H264 βš™οΈ ICM: S21A βš™οΈ VCS: 19.2
βš™οΈ BECS: BP-AAE-BC-AC-BE βš™οΈ Maps: 06.2020

User avatar
ANBO
Posts: 300
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2020 7:50 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: OBD-II PID and Torque Pro

Post by ANBO » Tue May 11, 2021 9:23 pm

- Download the file and unzip
Note: opening CSV in excel will break some of the content. I can share instructions later on using excel correctly to edit.

- Locate Torque Pro app ExtendedPids folder

Screenshot_20210511-220833_My Files.jpg

- Copy CSV file to folder

Screenshot_20210511-221003_My Files.jpg

- Open Torque Pro
- Open Settings

Screenshot_20210511-215122_Torque.jpg

- Select Manage extra PIDs

Screenshot_20210511-215130_Torque.jpg

- Select Add predefined set

Screenshot_20210511-215148_Torque.jpg

- Select appropriate set

Screenshot_20210511-215207_Torque.jpg

- Set loaded. Use back-key to return to main

Screenshot_20210511-215214_Torque.jpg

- Settings - Add display

Screenshot_20210511-215342_Torque.jpg

- Select desired display type

Screenshot_20210511-215354_Torque.jpg

- Place and adjust as desired

Screenshot_20210430-192200_Torque.jpg

πŸ‡¨πŸ‡­ EV400 HSE (MY2020; MAR); 20"πŸ”†
βš™οΈ H264 βš™οΈ ICM: S21A βš™οΈ VCS: 19.2
βš™οΈ BECS: BP-AAE-BC-AC-BE βš™οΈ Maps: 06.2020

dernotte
Posts: 433
Joined: Tue Dec 24, 2019 2:34 pm
Location: Montreal, QC, Canada

Re: OBD-II PID and Torque Pro

Post by dernotte » Tue May 11, 2021 10:39 pm

Grunt wrote: ↑
Tue May 11, 2021 5:28 pm
Hi all!

The CANBUS of the I-Pace produces masses of fascinating information. This info is readable via the On Board Diagnostics port.
OBD-II adapters are cheap and provide masses of real-time information in the form of Parameter IDs (PID).
One small precision here.
Unlike other cars (maybe this is common for other high end luxury car), the IPace does not expose anything on the OBD2 port, every information (PID) needs to be fetched individually. The real internal CAN bus is hidden behind the gateway module. Whenever to request a PID on the OBD2 port, in fact, you send that request to the gateway module, the gateway module send it to the appropriate module, get the value back, and then send back that info on the OBD2 port (act as a proxy). That's why it is so complex to discover ECU and PID on the Ipace, as compare to other car where you only have to "listen" the the chatty OBD2 port.

User avatar
ANBO
Posts: 300
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2020 7:50 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: OBD-II PID and Torque Pro

Post by ANBO » Wed May 12, 2021 6:37 am

dernotte wrote: ↑
Tue May 11, 2021 10:39 pm
That's why it is so complex to discover ECU and PID on the Ipace.
You have made it look too easy Dernotte 😁
πŸ‡¨πŸ‡­ EV400 HSE (MY2020; MAR); 20"πŸ”†
βš™οΈ H264 βš™οΈ ICM: S21A βš™οΈ VCS: 19.2
βš™οΈ BECS: BP-AAE-BC-AC-BE βš™οΈ Maps: 06.2020

Maxwell_400
Posts: 485
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2019 10:09 am
Location: Norway

Re: OBD-II PID and Torque Pro

Post by Maxwell_400 » Wed May 12, 2021 9:07 am

Grunt wrote: ↑
Tue May 11, 2021 5:28 pm
Hi all!

But a lot of this work seems to go to waste for a large part of our population - including myself.

Now, making that wealth of info usable to us, commoners, should not be terribly complex 8-)

With that information, all us commoners could display the info of our choosing...
Worthwhile?
It may still be a hurdle for "commoners" as there is an overwhelming number of pids and equations floating around. If we set up a simple list and dashboard for Torque Pro, what kind of information do you want to see ?

On my dashboard I have;
Main displays;
- Power in/out of battery
- Battery voltage
- Average battery temperature
- Average battery SOC
- Minimum cell voltage
- Maximum cell voltage

Smaller displays;
- average state of health
- battery current
- max available charge power
- max available discharge power
- interior temperature

I log a lot more pids to do post analysis.
I-Pace SE++, MY20, 18" summer & winter, no panoroof, towbar, spare wheel, 21A, TCU 19.2, BECS: BP-AAE-BC-AC-BE

User avatar
ANBO
Posts: 300
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2020 7:50 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: OBD-II PID and Torque Pro

Post by ANBO » Wed May 12, 2021 11:43 am

Maxwell_400 wrote: ↑
Wed May 12, 2021 9:07 am
If we set up a simple list and dashboard for Torque Pro, what kind of information do you want to see ?

I log a lot more pids to do post analysis.
Hi, in the technical section I posted this file, which can be loaded. It works for me, but wanted feedback from the team first.

Happy for you to use this v0.9:
viewtopic.php?f=11&t=4436&start=10#p62357

Think there is a way to save the dashboard as a template as well, which can be shared to ensure the CSV and Display aligns, helping with adoption.
πŸ‡¨πŸ‡­ EV400 HSE (MY2020; MAR); 20"πŸ”†
βš™οΈ H264 βš™οΈ ICM: S21A βš™οΈ VCS: 19.2
βš™οΈ BECS: BP-AAE-BC-AC-BE βš™οΈ Maps: 06.2020

Maxwell_400
Posts: 485
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2019 10:09 am
Location: Norway

Re: OBD-II PID and Torque Pro

Post by Maxwell_400 » Wed May 12, 2021 12:46 pm

ANBO wrote: ↑
Wed May 12, 2021 11:43 am
Maxwell_400 wrote: ↑
Wed May 12, 2021 9:07 am
If we set up a simple list and dashboard for Torque Pro, what kind of information do you want to see ?

I log a lot more pids to do post analysis.
Hi, in the technical section I posted this file, which can be loaded. It works for me, but wanted feedback from the team first.

Happy for you to use this v0.9:
viewtopic.php?f=11&t=4436&start=10#p62357

Think there is a way to save the dashboard as a template as well, which can be shared to ensure the CSV and Display aligns, helping with adoption.
Yes, the dashboard can be saved as well. For Iphone, the leading ones are afaik Car Scanner and DashCommand but they are not as versatile as Torque Pro.

So the question to the community is then, what information do you want on the screen?

Or @dernotte can sell his terminal solution. :)
I-Pace SE++, MY20, 18" summer & winter, no panoroof, towbar, spare wheel, 21A, TCU 19.2, BECS: BP-AAE-BC-AC-BE

User avatar
ANBO
Posts: 300
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2020 7:50 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: OBD-II PID and Torque Pro

Post by ANBO » Wed May 12, 2021 1:37 pm

This is a dashboard layout that aligns with the CSV I linked earlier:
I-Pace EV400.zip (new version available)

This is android. Not sure if it works on IPhone.

- unzip the file and copy it to the dashboard folder

Screenshot_20210512-132536_My Files.jpg

- Open dashboard settings - layout settings

Screenshot_20210512-132615_Torque.jpg

- Select Import layout

Screenshot_20210512-132626_Torque.jpg

You should be up and running and adapt to your liking.
Last edited by ANBO on Tue Jul 27, 2021 8:37 pm, edited 2 times in total.
πŸ‡¨πŸ‡­ EV400 HSE (MY2020; MAR); 20"πŸ”†
βš™οΈ H264 βš™οΈ ICM: S21A βš™οΈ VCS: 19.2
βš™οΈ BECS: BP-AAE-BC-AC-BE βš™οΈ Maps: 06.2020

dernotte
Posts: 433
Joined: Tue Dec 24, 2019 2:34 pm
Location: Montreal, QC, Canada

Re: OBD-II PID and Torque Pro

Post by dernotte » Wed May 12, 2021 7:42 pm

Maxwell_400 wrote: ↑
Wed May 12, 2021 12:46 pm

Or @dernotte can sell his terminal solution. :)
I am working on a 3D print holder to fix it now.... in the main hole below the A/C-Music screen

Post Reply