Granny charging in Europe

All Jaguar I-Pace related discussions
Rdm

Granny charging in Europe

Post by Rdm » Thu Apr 01, 2021 11:54 am

Fingers crossed the borders will open and we'll be able to travel to Europe this year.

If so, I'll take a granny charger with me. It is 3 pinned, so a few questions
1. Can I use a 3 pin to 2 pin adapter straight into the wall, or is something going to blow?
2. *if* I can get a 3 pin to 2 pin extension lead, is that a good idea?
3. Can I buy a 2 pin granny cable (My supposition is yes for everyone living on the Continent, but just checking!)
4. Can I use a 2 pin granny cable with an extension lead?

Thanks. I'm not an electrician so please nothing technical! (I can barely tell the different between an amp, a watt and a volt...)

Jelle v/d Meer

Re: Granny charging in Europe

Post by Jelle v/d Meer » Thu Apr 01, 2021 12:35 pm

Rdm wrote:
Thu Apr 01, 2021 11:54 am
Fingers crossed the borders will open and we'll be able to travel to Europe this year.

If so, I'll take a granny charger with me. It is 3 pinned, so a few questions
1. Can I use a 3 pin to 2 pin adapter straight into the wall, or is something going to blow?
2. *if* I can get a 3 pin to 2 pin extension lead, is that a good idea?
3. Can I buy a 2 pin granny cable (My supposition is yes for everyone living on the Continent, but just checking!)
4. Can I use a 2 pin granny cable with an extension lead?

Thanks. I'm not an electrician so please nothing technical! (I can barely tell the different between an amp, a watt and a volt...)
Below is my uneducated view:
1) Yes you should be able - all an adapter does is change the incoming 3 pin to a 2 pin. It is more a plug than an adapter - no change is made to voltage/amps
2) That could work as well - just make sure that you fully roll out your extension lead else it might get too hot.